Thoughts of a math class journal.

Posted: August 30, 2010 in Thoughtful thinking.

This was a journal entrée I wrote in math class during my last semester of my first year at SCF. 3/24/2010

I’m quite confused about this whole life thing. But I think that I have some of it figured out. I was reflecting upon my future and found that I do not have very many expectations as far as life goes. I would like a wife, kids, a house, a supporting job, and a car. I’m not picky either. Well, not of everything. I don’t care how big the house is or the yard so long as they fit my family comfortable. I don’t need a new car, just one that is reliable. I don’t even have to have my dream job, if that even exists.

You know, I was thinking today. I don’t really care what job I have as long as it supports my future family. I don’t care, I’ll do anything. Why? Because it isn’t that important to me. When I think about my future I don’t get excited about what job I’ll have. Because a job will always be just that, a job. Nothing more. It will be a tool that provides for our needs,  not something to be enjoyed. My future family is what occupies my thoughts when I think into the future. Heh, if I like my job is the last thing on my mind.

I wish the person who I am to eventually pursue had a massive arrow over their head. What I mean is, it’s better to start getting to know somebody sooner than later. Sheesh, I don’t want to waste any time. People don’t stay young and attractive forever. Not only that but when one is younger and less serious about a relationship then they can kinda see what they want in somebody and what they don’t.

Let me put it in the way I know best. It’s like a test run of a race car. When a dragster first rolls out onto the quarter-mile strip, it doesn’t just fire up the engine and barrel down the runway. No, first it makes a short test run to make sure that nothing is horribly wrong with the engine. What if they didn’t do that and in the middle of the race something goes wrong with their car at 300 mph. It’s a little late to stop and fix the problem. The more test runs you do, the more chance of finding a problem that is serious and therefore the safer your race will be. Kinda see where I’m going with this?

It’s better to test who you are compatible with. Purely of course. As soon as you can and with as many people as necessary. That way, one isn’t ready to get into a serious relationship and have absolutely no idea who they want or what they want to see in somebody. Having to start from scratch when one is ready to have a family can be much more tiresome than finding who one is compatible with at a younger, less emotionally destructive age.

Some people are just waiting for prince charming to sweep them off their feet, carry them off on his white horse into the sunset and happily ever after. Now, as much as I and I’m sure many others would like to be that, darn it, it’s just completely unrealistic. Do you know how much a horse costs?? Not only that, but happily ever after doesn’t technically exist until you are dead. Because that’s the only way one knows for sure that they lived completely happily ever after. And even then the term doesn’t exist. There will ALWAYS be disagreements and quirks about the other person that will be disliked. But it’s fighting past the little idiosyncrasies that the other has to find love. The love that is built upon character which is strengthened by trials. THAT is the love I want. However, to all of you who have found perfect true love without trials and pain I wish you the greatest happiness. And that nobody ever wakes you up.

That is pretty much my view on that. At least, it was about five months ago. I can’t say it’s changed a whole lot. I think I may have stepped on a few nerves with this one. But we all see things differently. Since then I have decided to major in journalism and am actually pretty excited about it. At least for now. So things do change.

Comments
  1. Joshua says:

    You stole the journalism major idea from me you little rat. I’m never endorsing your blog again.

    • Haha, actually I had no idea you wanted to major in Journalism. You want to major in journalism? Sorry you can’t. It was my idea first.

      In all seriousness I decided not too long after I wrote this journal entree in math class way back in March. It hasn’t been a new idea. I’m just now writing about it is all.

Leave a Reply

