Did I do that?!

Posted: April 11, 2011 in Thoughtful thinking.

As I observe the world more and more in the relatively short time I’ve been in existence I’ve already found one thing that irks me beyond almost anything else. That is people’s ignorance of their own stupidity. It isn’t harsh, really it isn’t! Think, if you can, with me for a second. Everyone is dumb at one time or another. Sorry folks, nobody, with the exception of One, has lived their whole life without fouling it up in one way or another. I’ve done many things in my life (more than I care to mention) worthy of the title as well! So I admit it. I can be an idiot. I’m sorry, and I’ll do my best to make amends. I also have plenty of lenience for people who manage to dig themselves into a hole as well just because I know that I’ll probably end up doing it sooner or later and it’s nice to have some friends topside when you’re trying to get out. There is, however, a catch to my patience with your mess-up that is affecting me. One has to recognize it.

One must be able to demonstrate the realization of one’s mistake in a way that portrays true remorse and attempts to relieve the consequences especially if they affect other people. Basically, one has to accept it, suck it up, and deal with it. Such is life. I am sick of people who want the responsibilities of their actions placed on other’s shoulders and expect to get away scott-free. If one messes it up then clean it up! Nobody else has the time or energy to make-up for somebody else’s slack. I can tolerate someone who makes mistakes but takes the responsibility. I cannot however, tolerate an ignorant person who ignores their wrongdoings and shrugs when confronted with them.

This is not to say that I don’t have mercy for people and give them the benefit of the doubt. I do! But I believe that is part of the problem and it is to my own discredit. I have grown too correct in my corrections and would rather take the brunt of someone’s foul instead of dealing with the resulting confrontation. This is a playground for the ignorant irresponsible. They breed on this enabling and it seems to me that more and more are spawning from this terrible plague. It shows in our schools, government, and workplace. An increasing amount of people want to be able to do more and get away with it and the only people who are paying for it are the responsible ones who quietly take the punishment of the former. The injustice disgusts me, but for some reason, we just keep on accepting it.

I once heard a quote from a teacher a while back that has stuck with me and I’ve found it true. He said, “If your going to be dumb, then you’ve got to be tough.” I’m sure he’s not the first person to say and that probably got it from someone else but he is who I first heard it from. Seriously though. This could not fit what I’m trying to say more perfectly. Nobody else should take the blame for your mistake but you, intentional or unintentional, it is your bad. This is not to say that I discourage the helping of someone who fell, in fact I greatly encourage it! But I can tell you this, I am much more likely to help someone in their folly who is humble and respectful about their mistake than someone who I’ve had to clean up after time and time again.

In correcting someone of their foul, one brings to light something that they might have not seen. It is possible to hurt someone or screw something up that was unknown to one’s self. In this case, it’s the responsibility of those around to make known the fault so that the ball is now in the court of the faulter to decide what he/she wants to do with it. Ignore it, or realize their mistake and correct it the best they can. There is nothing more embarrassing or humbling than chewing someone out for something that they were not even aware of. Kinda turns the tables around.

I can just see the comments now explaining how God forgives all of us despite our weaknesses and that we should too. I would never disagree. It IS our job to love and forgive one another as He would forgive us. This isn’t here to argue that. What this is here to say is this, do not make others have to forgive and clean up after one’s mess. Forgive. Do not enable. In fact, enabling is almost as bad as doing the act itself. For when one “lets something go”, the faulter does not learn from the consequences that should have rightfully been his/her’s and repeats his/her’s actions.

This isn’t a personality study or aimed at a specific group of people. It’s simply a pet peeve of mine that has been sent to test my patience of late. I’m sure I have been the victim of my own writing here many times and apologize in advance for any offenses that may go unseen or unrecognized in the future as I’m sure anyone who reads this will be watching me most intently. 😛

 

Comments
  1. Joshua says:

    That quote is actually attributed to John Wayne, which makes it even cooler.

  2. Joshua says:

    You know what makes it cooler? I heard about that form Chuck Norris, who hadd it given to him by Moses, who heard it from God.

Leave a Reply

